Congregational Election Meeting

Sunday, June 28, 2020 at 11:00 am

Meeting will take place remotely, by telephone and online – connection information coming soon

The Constitution and Bylaws that we ratified at our last congregational meeting – back in January, when the world was so different – calls for two mandatory business meetings of the congregation every year: one in January, and one in April.

April came and went this year, and for some very good reasons having to do with COVID-19, we never did have that meeting. But to stay in compliance with our constitution – and by extension, with state law – we do still need to have it. And thanks to modern online conferencing technology, we can.

At 11:00 am on Sunday, June 28, after worship, we will gather electronically – by telephone, laptop, tablet, or PC – with an agenda that includes:

  • A report from the Endowment Committee
  • An update on the sale of one the Phinney Houses
  • An update on the parsonage remodeling project
  • Re-opening considerations
  • News about our incoming vicar
  • Election of the 2020-2021 Congregation Council

Our new constitution calls for a quorum consisting of 20% of voting members. (Voting members are defined as confirmed members who have communed in the congregation and have made a contribution of record during the current calendar year.) That quorum is currently calculated at 91 – which is almost double what our former constitution called for. If you are a voting member, please do your very best to attend. Watch for an invitation next week with instructions for how to connect.

As we’ve said before: the church building is closed, but CHURCH is still open! See you at the meeting on June 28.  
Proposed Congregation Council for 2020-2021

Our nominating committee has been hard at work this spring finding outstanding candidates to fill council positions for 2020-2021. If approved at the June 28 election meeting, the following slate of candidates will make up our council in 2020-2021:

Brian Gruber, President (term expires July 2022)
Shannon McCarthy, Vice-President (term expires July 2022)
Signe Roscoe, Secretary (term expires July 2021)
George Snelling, Treasurer (term expires July 2022)

Matthew Hendrickson (term expires July 2021)
Jenn Boelter (term expires July 2023)
Renée Dudley (term expires July 2023)
Brian Kreger (term expires July 2021)
Matt Langston (term expires July 2023)
Trygg Magelssen (term expires July 2021)

Peter Carlson
Janet Deters
David Rice